JOY DIVISION - +- (plus minus) 10 x 7" Box Set - 2010

Released 6th Dec 2010

The following info is taken from a Rhino press release:

Rhino Records UK / Warner Music are proud to announce the release of '+ -" (plus minus) - a unique JOY DIVISION retrospective box set consisting of 10 7" singles on vinyl presented in a beautiful clamshell box. All tracks have been newly re-mastered from original tapes by Stephen Morris and Frank Arkwright (Metropolis Studios) with creative direction for '+ -" box set artwork coming from Peter Saville.

Compiled by renowned journalist and author Jon Savage, the boxset is released in celebration of Ian Curtis - in the year that is the 30th anniversary of his death. +- includes 7"'s which have previously been issued and some which have been created specifically for this release. Although they released two albums in two years - "Unknown Pleasures" (1979) and "Closer" (1980), JOY DIVISION recorded many other tracks throughout their career that were released on stand-alone singles - most notably 'Transmission" and 'Love Will Tear Us Apart". +- brings these singles, and more, together in one place. Anyone purchasing the physical box will have the opportunity to download (for free) all the tracks in hi quality mp3 format.

The records:

1. Warsaw / Leaders Of Men
2. No Love Lost / Failures
3. Digital / Glass
4. Autosuggestion / From Safety To Where
5. Transmission / Novelty
6. Atmosphere / Dead Souls
7. Komakino / Incubation & As You Said
8. Love Will Tear Us Apart / These Days
9. She's Lost Control (12" version) / Love Will Tear Us Apart (Pennine Version)
10. Isolation / Heart And Soul

As a co-founder of the legendary independent label FACTORY RECORDS Peter Saville leant his eyes to the project providing stunning outer packaging and suggesting the concept for the sleeves. Each cover is based upon its original and - as a snapshot of a band and a time - serves to remind the owner of the unique position Joy Division hold in British musical history.

Standard edition - 4500 copies Deluxe edition - 500 copies

+- boxes are individually numbered 1-5000. Numbers 1-500 will be available as a super deluxe version and will contain a limited edition Peter Saville art piece as well as two exclusive promotional CD’s “+” and “-“. The promotional CDs feature the same tracks as the 7” singles.

Distribution problems:

Due to an error some customers who had ordered the deluxe set received the standard edition. Rhino rectified this by sending the extras on separately once the mistake was spotted. Some people who ordered the standard set got lucky and received the deluxe version instead.

A pirate 2LP version of this exists - see Singles 1978-1980

iTunes Version: released December 2012

Same tracks as above plus four bonus videos:

Colony - Live
Apollo 28th October 1979 - previously unreleased
Love Will tear Us Apart
Transmission (Something Else)

JOY DIVISION - +- (plus minus) 10 x CD Box Set - Rhino/Warner Music UK Ltd 2011

Released in the UK in 2011
Reissued as 10 CD singles in card clamshell box
Rhino/Warner Music UK Ltd.
Catlogue No: 2564672145
Barcode: 8 25646 72145 0