JOY DIVISION - CLOSER TO THE UNKNOWN (CD) Heart Of Darkness Records 2004

Released August 2004
Basically a reissue of Remains. It's got one additional song (Dead Souls track 24) which is said to be from "Pennine Sound Studios, Oldham 3/80", but it's in fact the regular studio version from Cargo October / November 1979
The disc has the words "NON OMNIS MORIAR", which apparently means "Not all of me shall die" in Latin.
Live / studio.

01. Inside The Line 13. Ice Age
02. Gutz 14. Warsaw
03. At A Later Date 15. Shadowplay
04. The Kill 16. Atrocity Exhibition
05. You're No Good For Me 17. Something Must Break*
06. At A Later Date (live) 18. Transmission
07. Leaders Of Men 19. She's Lost Control
08. Walked In Line 20. Transmission
09. Failures 21. Passover (live)
10. Novelty 22. New Dawn Fades (live)
11. No Love Lost 23. Love Will Tear Us Apart
12. Transmission 24. Dead Souls

Tracks 01-05: Pennine Sound Studios, Oldham 18-07-1977 (Warsaw demos)
Track 06: Live Manchester, Electric Circus 02-10-1977 (from Virigin 'Short Circuit' compilation)
Tracks 07-14: Arrow Studios, Manchester 03+04-05-1978 (RCA album sessions)
Track 15: "Granada Reports", Granada TV 20-09-1978
Track 16: Pennine Sound Studios, Oldham 04-06-1979 (Piccadilly Radio session)
Tracks 17-18: Central Sound Studios, Manchester July 1979 (First 'Transmission' session) *
Tracks 19-20: "Something Else" BBC 2 TV 15-09-1979
Tracks 21-22: Live Amsterdam, Paradiso 11-01-1980
Track 23: Pennine Sound Studios, Oldham January 1980 (original single B-side version)
Track 24: Cargo October / November 1979

* 'Something Must Break' is featured on the Heart And Soul box set (Disc 3), unlike 'Novelty' from the same session which (by mistake?) is not included on this CD. Maybe they got the wrong track!